Auntie Faye’s Walking Taco

Happy Sunday & Memorial Day Weekend!

I enjoyed the extra day with some baking & cooking! I was going to make bread, but it’s 90 degrees here and we don’t have air conditioning. PLUS we went to the farmers market and the tomatoes were SO BEAUTIFUL. So, walking taco & fresh homemade salsa it was!

A lot of people would call this recipe a bean dip or 7 layer dip. In my family we always called it a walking taco. It is one of my brother’s favorites and I am also a big fan.

This recipe calls for sour cream mixed with taco seasoning, but for the past few years I have been using Fiesta Party Seasoning from Tastefully Simple instead. I LOVE this seasoning and think it makes one of the best spicy dips in the world. My mom actually got me three cans of it for Christmas one year (definitely caused some questions at the airport scanner).

This recipe is great for a crowd. I usually make it on a big platter when we would have company over to watch a big game. If you are making it for a smaller group (or yourself, because that’s just how things are these day) I highly recommend doing it in a tupperware like below instead of on a platter. This way you can just pop a lid on it and store it in the fridge for the week – it’s kind of like meal prep. Snack prep? I think I may be on to something there.

Anyway – I hope you enjoy!

xoxo,

Liz

Auntie Faye’s Walking Taco

Ingredients:

  • 1 can refried beans
  • 1 (16oz) container of sour cream
  • 1 pkg taco seasoning
  • 2 tomatoes – chopped
  • 1 can black olives – chopped
  • 2 bunches green onions – chopped
  • 16 oz. grated cheese
  • Guacamole

Directions:

Spread refried beans on a plate. Mix sour cream with seasoning and spread on top of the beans. Sprinkle with cheese. Circle the outside edge of the plate with tomatoes, olives, and green onions. Top with dollop of guacamole. Serve with your favorite tortilla chips!

Leave a comment