A Socially Distanced Birthday Celebration

These are strange times we live in, folks. The past 4 months have been filled with so many canceled events, changed plans, and families kept apart. So, when my friend David asked me to help him plan something safe and special for his AMAZING girlfriend’s 25th birthday – I immediately said yes.

Some people don’t like celebrating birthdays. I am not one of those people. I LOOOOOVVVEE birthdays and think of them as a wonderful opportunities to show people some love. Also – my love language is gift giving. So it just fits.

It took some brainstorming and some really honest conversations about what we all felt comfortable and safe doing, but overall I think it ended up being a perfect morning!

Menu:

The Set-Up:
Our balcony & the ground below it! The balcony barrier helped us keep some social distancing while still having access to the kitchen. I made cheese plates in the morning that I wrapped up so people could eat separately and we decided to order individually wrapped food from a local restaurant.

The Decor:
This simple sign that I made with crayons & printer paper

Overall, it was a really was a wonderful morning! What have you been doing to stay in touch with friends during this time?

P.S. Want to learn more about police abolition vs. reform. Watch this discussion held by the Markkula Center at Santa Clara and then read this FAQ here!

xoxo

Liz

One thought on “A Socially Distanced Birthday Celebration

Leave a comment