San Diego – 2019

Hey everyone!

I hope ya’ll enjoyed learning about Gio and I’s trip to New York this last December. I thought I’d do a similar post out our trip to San Diego last spring (since we won’t be going anywhere new soon). For those of you who are new to my travel posts here’s what we do: for each day of our vacation I’ll give you a highlights real with 3 points.

  1. Something we’d do again (Repeat it)
  2. Something we would either not do again or do differently (Delete it)
  3. The best things we ate because #foodislife (Eat It)

Ok – here we go!

Day 1:

Repeat It: Our Hotel – La Valencia
Gio picked the location for our vacation and my only request was a pool. This hotel did. not. disappoint. We loved that the location was walkable to beaches, restaurants, and shops, and we LOVED the pool. We also got upgraded to a courtyard suite when we checked in and our room was beautiful with a small balcony and a seating area.

Delete It: The sunburn I got immediately when we arrived.
My winter skin was not ready for the San Diego sun. I bought extra sunscreen but it was already too late.

Eat It:

  • Sushi Lunch at Sushi By the Rock
  • Tacos & Margaritas at Puesto
    Full disclosure I cannot attest to the food quality because we were meeting up with my college roommate and our appetizer was a pitcher of margaritas. BUT I can say that the margaritas were delicious.
  • Dessert at Living Room Cafe
    My roommate recommended this cozy cafe & wine bar because dinner was over and we weren’t done chatting. The desserts were delicious and the outside seating had an excellent vibe.

Day 2:

Repeat It: La Jolla Open Aire Market
This was one of the most amazing farmers’ markets I’ve ever been too! The only mistake we made was eating breakfast before we went. We still went home with a bag full of delicious bread, cheese, and fruit to snack on in our room or by the pool!

Delete It: Dinner at Karl Straus Brewery
Ok, so the beer was good. But the food (burger for Gio, salad for me) did not hit the spot. I also spent approx. 4 hours by the pool this day so I may have just needed water.

Eat It:

  • Breakfast at AT Coffee House.
    Sadly this restaurant was hit hard by the COVID-19 shut down and won’t be reopening. But they had delicious coffee and great pastries for a morning by the ocean.
  • Non-Dairy Gelato at Bobboi
    We went here every.single.day after we tried it. Perfect as a way to cool down after long stretches in the sun.

Day 3:

Repeat It: La Jolla Beach (pictured above)
Just off Coast Blvd. we found this little beach as we walked South away from the hotel. It was a perfect place for a picnic lunch and reading a book in the sun. Plus, it was only a 10 minute walk from Bobboi Gellato so you can guess where we went on our way home.

Delete It: Dinner at La Dolce Vida.

The food here was actually ok (not great). But the service was real bad. It took us over an hour to get our check after we finished our meal. Gio would like the record to show that he would repeat this because, “we tell the story all the time”.

Eat It:

  • Breakfast with a view at Brockton Villa
    Gio loved there cold-brew and my breakfast tacos (above) were excellent.
  • Sandwiches to take to the beach at Deli-licious Sandwich Shop
    This sandwich shop is only open during the week. But is perfect for an easy and affordable lunch to take to the beach!
  • Pre-dinner drinks at We Olive & Wine Bar

Day 4:

Repeat It: Coronado Beaches
We went to Coronado for an afternoon to visit my Nana and I was so sad we didn’t find these beaches until our last day.

Delete It: Downtown San Diego
This is something we would do again, but do differently. We walked from Little Italy to the Gas Lamp District along the water on a Tuesday morning and really nothing was open. We definitely want to try this again and would love any recommendation you have!

Eat It:

  • Coffee Cup – a.k.a best breakfast we ate in San Diego
    We broke our “breakfast while looking at the ocean” rule to try this spot about 2 blocks away from our hotel and I am so glad we did. We actually went here 1 more time before we left for the airport because it was just so dang good.

Have you been to San Diego? What are you favorite spots?

Leave a comment