Marge’s Scones

I received this recipe at 9 AM today, immediately went into the kitchen and made the scones, ate them, and am now am sitting here typing this post in order to share the recipe with all of you! I just think everyone needs these scones in their life, ASAP.

The story behind this recipe makes my heart really full. Yesterday, I desperately asked instagram for scone recipes. So many friends came through (thank you!), including Katie.

I met Katie when I was living in Scranton, PA working with the Jesuit Volunteer Corp. She was one of the only people at work who was my age and she would often stop by my desk to say hello and share her dating stories. I loved our visits and her passion for the South Side of Scranton where we were both living and working.

The recipe Katie sent me was created by her mom, Marge. Katie shared that her mom always made her scones round – cutting them out with her Looney Tunes cup – that she made them for every holiday, and that they were her grandfathers favorite. I never got to meet Katie’s mom, she passed away before I met Katie, but cooking this recipe and hearing Katie’s memories around it gave me a window into the love Marge shared with those around her.

Thank you, Katie, for sharing this recipe with me and for allowing me to share it with everyone here!!

I hope you all enjoy it! Seriously, the scones are SO good. I didn’t even include any Tips or Tricks for this recipe because it works just the way it is.

xoxo

Liz

Margie’s Scones

Makes approx. 7 scones. Recipe takes about 30 minutes.

Ingredients:

  • 2 C flour
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 3 t baking powder
  • 1/4 C sugar
  • 14/ t nutmeg
  • 1/4 C cold butter
  • 1/2 C milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 C. raisins or currants

Directions:

  1. In a large bowl, mix together flour, salt, baking powder, sugar, and nutmeg
  2. Cut cold butter into pieces and add to flour mixture. Using a pastry blender or 2 knives cut butter into flour until just combined and crumbly
  3. Add raisins and mix in to coat with flour
  4. Mix milk and egg, add to flour and raisins. Stir until just combined.
  5. Turn out onto floured surface and knead until dough holds together
  6. Flatten dough and cut with floured biscuit cutter or top of glass
  7. Bake on un-greased cookie sheet at 450 degrees for 10 minutes

Leave a comment