Grandma Ruth’s Vinegar Chocolate Cake

Happy Monday, Everybody!!

Does any else feel like Monday’s require chocolate cake?! I sure do. So here is a story and a delicious cake recipe as a prize for making it through this day of the week.

When my Grandma Ruth passed away, my grandpa gave my older sister her recipe file. Since I restarted this blog, my sister has been sending me photos of recipes to try – Look at that cursive script! All of her recipes are written out like this and you can tell the ones she loved the most by the oil stains and crumbs.

Grandma Ruth had a famous sweet tooth and anything chocolate was her dessert of choice! I made a vinegar chocolate cake for her birthday every year starting in high school. It is rich and (fun fact) VEGAN! The vinegar gives the cake its moisture and replaces the eggs you normally find in cake batter.

I hope you enjoy this recipe! I made cupcakes and served them with fresh whipped cream & sprinkles. I also tried to make a layer cake in a pie pan — it broke into pieces when I was trying to get it out of the pan. Can’t win them all.

Grandma Ruth’s Vinegar Chocolate Cake

Ingredients:

  • 3 C flour
  • 2 C sugar
  • 6 Tbs cocoa powder
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2/3 C salad oil
  • 2 Tbs vinegar
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 2 C water

Directions:

  1. Sift together all the dry ingredients
  2. Add wet ingredients to dry. “Mix only until dry ingredients are mixed well, do not over mix” – Grandma
  3. Bake at 350 degrees. Test with a toothpick in the center
    • 25 minutes if using round cake tins (makes 3 layers)
    • 30-35 minutes if making an “oblong cake” – which I assume means a 9×13 pan
    • 22 (ish) minutes for cupcakes.

Tips & Tricks:

  • As with all Grandma Ruth Recipes. Salad oil = light oil of your choice!

One thought on “Grandma Ruth’s Vinegar Chocolate Cake

Leave a comment